Skip to main content
aboutsummaryrefslogblamecommitdiffstats
blob: f8dfc2d880cbcb8960344cdaf43020e7322089dd (plain) (tree)
1
2
3
4
5
6
7




                                                                       
                    
                                                     





























                                                                                             
<html><head><title>Reconnecting to existing</title>
<LINK REL=STYLESHEET HREF=../book.css CHARSET=ISO-8859-1 TYPE=text/css>
<meta NAME="keywords" content="">
<meta NAME="since" content="">
</head><h2>Reconnecting to existing</h2>
<p>Since: 3.0 M6<br>
Last Modified: $Date: 2004/01/13 18:46:26 $</p><body>
<p>
The following scenario represents how a user would reconnect a project that does
not contain CVS meta-data to it's remote counterpart. It is assumed that the local project 
was derived from a previous version of the remote project but both the local project and
the remote may have been modified since then.
</p>
<p>Perform the following steps:</p>
<ol>
  <li>Load an existing project (using Checkout or some other means)</li>
  <li>Disconnect the project and indicate that CVS meta-data is to be deleted</li>
  <li>Modify some local resources</li>
  <li>Optionally, modify the remote contents of some resources using a separate checkout</li>
  <li>Perform a Team>Share Project and select CVS (if there is more than one 
  repository provider available).</li>
  <li>Select the repository the project was loaded from and click OK.</li>
  <li>You will be prompted that the project already exists. Click Yes to continue.
  In the next dialog that appears, select HEAD as the branch to share with.</li>
  <li>Click Finish. This will close the wizard and show the sync view.</li>
  <li>When the background job is completed, ensure that all folders (except new ones)
  are marked as in-sync and all files (except new ones) are conflicting additions.
  <li>Changing the comparison criteria to compare contents should not contact the server
  and should leave only the resources that differ in the sync view. Perform a 
  Mark As Merged and a Commit on these resources.</li>
  <li>Changing the comparison criteria back to revision number will reveal all the files
  whose content did not change, perform a Mark as merged on these resources followed by 
  a Team>Update on the project in the Navigator (Note: This could be handled better).</li>
  <li>After the update, ensure the project has no out-of-sync resources.</li>
</ol>

</body></html>

Back to the top