Skip to main content
aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAlexis-Maurer Fortin2018-03-16 11:49:09 -0400
committerGenevieve Bastien2018-03-21 15:48:26 -0400
commita0ec10cde58d3485e02e2b59524bd6b7bdd641df (patch)
tree294e749a1efe221d84c66a377acbc6fed01777fd
parent24bf65de88388acd6ffa99f008b93b5a56b1fc82 (diff)
downloadorg.eclipse.tracecompass.incubator-a0ec10cde58d3485e02e2b59524bd6b7bdd641df.tar.gz
org.eclipse.tracecompass.incubator-a0ec10cde58d3485e02e2b59524bd6b7bdd641df.tar.xz
org.eclipse.tracecompass.incubator-a0ec10cde58d3485e02e2b59524bd6b7bdd641df.zip
atrace: doc for installing atrace and ftrace plugins
Includes steps to generate either Systrace.py or atrace traces on Android platform. Change-Id: Ia7579370104e28d668ccc140737de4d27e61b01e Signed-off-by: Alexis-Maurer Fortin <alexis-maurer.fortin@polymtl.ca> Signed-off-by: Guillaume Champagne <guillaume.champagne@polymtl.ca> Signed-off-by: Hugo Genesse <hugo.genesse@polymtl.ca> Signed-off-by: Pierre-Yves Lajoie<pierre-yves.lajoie@polymtl.ca> Signed-off-by: Eva Terriault <eva.terriault@polymtl.ca> Reviewed-on: https://git.eclipse.org/r/119594 Reviewed-by: Genevieve Bastien <gbastien+lttng@versatic.net> Tested-by: Genevieve Bastien <gbastien+lttng@versatic.net> Tested-by: CI Bot Reviewed-by: Matthew Khouzam <matthew.khouzam@ericsson.com>
-rw-r--r--doc/org.eclipse.tracecompass.incubator.atrace.doc.user/doc/User-Guide.mediawiki17
1 files changed, 15 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/doc/org.eclipse.tracecompass.incubator.atrace.doc.user/doc/User-Guide.mediawiki b/doc/org.eclipse.tracecompass.incubator.atrace.doc.user/doc/User-Guide.mediawiki
index 1c5d5180..d9b2525a 100644
--- a/doc/org.eclipse.tracecompass.incubator.atrace.doc.user/doc/User-Guide.mediawiki
+++ b/doc/org.eclipse.tracecompass.incubator.atrace.doc.user/doc/User-Guide.mediawiki
@@ -4,13 +4,26 @@ Supports direct output from atrace or HTML output from systrace.py
''Android is a trademark of Google LLC''
+== Installing Required Plugins in Trace Compass==
+In order to import traces generated on Android systems, you need to install two features from the Trace Compass Incubator: ''Trace Compass ftrace (Incubation)'' and ''Trace Compass for Android Traces (Incubation)'' features.
+
+It’s preferable to use a development snapshot of Trace Compass, as the Incubator feature may require the latest master to work correctly. These snapshots can be found here: [http://download.eclipse.org/tracecompass/master/rcp/]
+
+Once you have Trace Compass Installed, click '''Tools''' -> '''Add-ons…'''
+
+A new window listing all the available incubator features will open. You can select the ''Trace Compass ftrace (Incubation)'' and ''Trace Compass for Android Traces (Incubation)'' features, click ''Finish'' and follow the ''Install new software'' wizard to complete the installation.
+
+You can now import traces generated on the Android Platform.
+
+''Note: Please refer to [http://archive.eclipse.org/tracecompass/doc/stable/org.eclipse.tracecompass.doc.user/Trace-Compass-Incubator.html#Trace_Compass_Incubator the full documentation to install Trace Compass Incubator] to more information on installation incubator features.''
+
== Generating a trace ==
There are two ways to generate a trace either using Systrace.py or atrace directly
-===Systrace.py===
+=== systrace.py ===
Follow procedures found here: https://developer.android.com/studio/command-line/systrace.html and then import resulting HTML file in Trace Compass
-===atrace===
+=== atrace ===
Open shell on phone using adb. When running an atrace tracing make sure to use option -o in order to write the output to a file. Once tracing is done just import the output file in Trace Compass.
ex:
# adb shell atrace -o gfx \ No newline at end of file

Back to the top